Peyton Krebs Named New Kootenay ICE Captain

Kootenay ICE forward Peyton Krebs #19 (Photo: Bradley Jones)

With Thursday's announcement, Krebs is now the youngest team captain currently in the Western Hockey League.

The Kootenay ICE Hockey Club announced on Thursday that ‘01-born forward Peyton Krebs has been named the team’s new captain and the 23rd captain in franchise history.

The Okotoks, Alberta native played his first career WHL game on November 16, 2016. Since then, he has played in 101 WHL regular season games, collecting 29 goals and 63 assists for 92 points. As of Thursday, Krebs is tied for the team lead in goals and has the outright lead in assists and points.

“Peyton’s work ethic on and off the ice combined with the respect he has earned from the coaching staff and his teammates made it clear that he is ready for this responsibility,” said Head Coach James Patrick. “We are a young group going through a learning process and Peyton is the right person to lead us moving forward. Peyton sets a high standard each and every day and is someone the rest of our young core will continue to learn from.”

Patrick added, “The future of this group and what they can accomplish together is very exciting; Peyton is the right person to lead the way.”

During the 2017-18 season, Krebs finished first in the WHL in points among rookies with 54. He was fourth on the team in scoring as a 16-year-old.

Over the past year, Krebs has represented Canada at the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge and at the Hlinka Gretzky Cup. As a member of Team Canada Red, Krebs earned a silver medal at the U-17’s in 2017. Less than one year later, Krebs played a pivotal role in Team Canada winning gold at the Hlinka Gretzky Cup. During that tournament, Krebs collected two goals and five points in five tournament games, including helping set up the overtime winner against the United States in the semi-finals.

“When we started the rebuilding process last season, we knew we would need to be patient, focus on building a young nucleus that could grow together and provide those players with opportunity to develop,” said Matt Cockell, President and General Manager. “We are committed to our plan and it is the right time in that process for our young core, with Peyton’s leadership, to elevate their level of responsibility.”

Cockell added, “There is no better person to lead the team moving forward than Peyton Krebs.”

Here is a list of former ICE captains:

  • John Kachur 1996-1997
  • Steve McCarthy 1998-2000
  • Mike Green 2000
  • Mike Comrie 2000
  • Dean Arsene 2000-2001
  • Jason Jaffray 2001-2002
  • Jarret Stoll 2001-2002
  • Colin Sinclair 2002-2003
  • Nigel Dawes 2003-2005
  • Adam Cracknell 2005-2006
  • Ryan Russell 2006-2007
  • Steve DaSilva 2007-2008
  • Andrew Bailey 2008-2009
  • Dustin Sylvester 2009-2010
  • Brayden McNabb 2010-2011
  • Drew Czerwonka 2011-2012
  • Joey Leach 2013
  • Sam Reinhart 2013-2015
  • Luke Philp 2015-2016
  • Tanner Lishchynsky 2016
  • Cale Fleury 2017
  • Colton Kroeker 2018

- Submitted by Kootenay ICE

More from East Kootenay News

Recently Played